Hey Atlanta Friends…

9 03 2011

Alright, to all of you who have said to me “let me know if there is anything I can do,” over the past few weeks, I’m placing an order. Hospital food is foul and I plan to refuse all meals when I start this next hospitalization tomorrow. I’d rather eat the chemo straight from the bag than suffer another salt-free protein substance smothered in gravy product with steam-raped former veggies as a meal. It’s a waste and I wonder if I could save my insurance company some money by refusing food. There is a Starbucks in the hospital for coffee, student center for meals on days that I’m unplugged, and I plan to bring fruit, cereal, and some snack food that will supplement breakfast and odd times. I anticipate needing about 10 tasty and creative meals delivered to my short list of visitors between Thursday 3/10 – Tuesday 3/15. I narcissistically imagine that there will be a very long list of people volunteering and I promise you will each get your turn since there are a lot of days that I’ll be spending in the hospital this year… so fear not dear friends, I will have an appointment book and waiting list at the ready.

Yeah, so I said delivered to my short list. You caught that did you?. Since this will be a more aggressive arm of treatment than the first round I think I am going to limit my herd of visitors to a very short list of my parents and a few friends. The parade of visitors last time was nice, but a little bit overwhelming at times. If you’re on the list then you have already been informed, if you aren’t then I’m sorry you didn’t make the cut this time. Love ya, mean it, see ya when I’m out of the hospital and well enough for visitation.

Food restrictions: no sushi, no cheese with mold, no fruit without a peal on it, no booze. 😦 Also, I don’t eat fast food.
Favorite foods: Mediterranean, Mexican, Funky American, Southern Comfort, Fresh fruit/veg
Favorite places: Alon’s, Doc Chey, Fellini’s, Willy’s, MetroFresh, SuperPan, Antico Pizza, Holeman & Finch, Empire State South, Iberian Pig

Michael Baker and Heather Wademan will be making a care calendar that I’ll post on here once it’s designed that might make this easier, but for now if you are interested in fulfilling this ridiculous request of mine you can send me an email with your date/time availability at bryanraybon@yahoo.com or post a comment on the blog. In fact, I encourage you to comment on this post anyway with rolling eyes, exasperated teeth sucking sounds, and commentary on my bougie requests. When you win a food delivery slot I will let you know who the contact person is to for you to make the drop and they will complete the job up to my hospital room. You may be able to meet them at the hospital itself or at their home/offices in midtown, whichever is more convenient for you both.

I can’t believe I’m actually posting this, but here goes… please don’t unsubscribe or stop reading after this. I have cancer ya know and can’t be held responsible for my actions. 🙂